• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Verbally abused by supermarket employee

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Verbally abused by supermarket employee

At the end of February I went into my local supermarket (one of the big five) I have been shopping there regularly for the last 8 years.

This was a Friday at about 5.30pm and was very busy. It is a large supermarket.

I placed my food items on the conveyor belt. There was an elderly couple in front of me and a customer behind me. As there were no dividers I took one from an adjacent empty till and placed it in front of my goods to separate my shopping from the customers.
    The cashier saw me do this and in a raised voice she said "put that back, there are too many people touching it" I was a bit shocked and put the divider back onto the empty till. She was still serving the couple in front of me and then she shouted at me "step back, you are invading my space and you are not socially distancing" She then stared at me. I moved one step back.. There is the one meter rule in place. She was sitting behind the screen wearing a face mask, the couple in front of me were wearing a mask, I was wearing a face mask and was standing well over a meter.

Anyhow, I was really annoyed with her by this time. She was still staring at me and the customer in front of me was paying by card.
    I stood at the till and then in a raised voice I said "You have a very bad attitude and I am not happy at the way you have been speaking to me" She got even more angry. She then asked the couple in front of me "you have witnessed this, can I have your names" She grabbed a piece of paper and they willingly gave their names.