• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Help with Particulars of Claim - Breach of Contract

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with Particulars of Claim - Breach of Contract

Hi there,

I am looking for some advice and hope that someone on here may be able to assist me. First, a bit of background:

I am a professional DJ who has a contract with a venue. They have breached the terms and I am looking to recover the losses incurred.

The contract itself is commences on 11-May-2012 and is for a period of 26 weeks. It clearly states;

"Cancellation: After 8th November 2012, either party may cancel this agreement by giving the other a minimum of 28 calendar days written notice. Should you the hirer, wish to cancel any agreed booked date covered within this agreement, then payment will still be due in full."

I received a phone call on 11-Oct-2012 stating that my services were no longer required, effective immediately.

I have written to them requesting that they pay the monies due from the remaining 4 weeks of the contract and had no response.

I am now ready to take the next step as detailed in my letter to them and pursue the matter through the Small Claims Court.

I have two questions:
    1. How much do I put the claim in for? Technically, there were still 4 weeks still to run before either of us could have given the required 28 days written notice. So that would make 8 weeks in total. I did however say in my letter to them that I would be happy with the 4 weeks hire.
    2. What do I write for the Claim Particulars? I am using MCOL to make the claim but am unsure of what is required.