• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Credit Card PPI Redress Offer and Interest

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Credit Card PPI Redress Offer and Interest

Can anybody help? I have a couple of questions regards an offer I have recently received for PPI redress on a credit card. I got the offer within 2 weeks of complaining to the bank by letter so no complaints about efficiency! The PPI was taken out in 1996 (when I was a student) and payments stopped at my request in 2008. My questions relate to interest. Firstly the offer made does not seem to take into account that I have been paying compound interest at a monthly rate of 2.075% on the redress amount for almost 5 years now. I have bank statements going back to 2007 so this figure could be calculated accurately. Also regards simple interest at 8%. Is this the figure for the last five years after I stopped the PPI payments or would this be totalled for the 12 years I have paid PPI? Or is this for both together? For information, the offer is for £2,005.57 in total. It is broken down as follows: £1487.90 premiums, £20.00 charges, £332.45 total associated interest, £119.45 monthly credit interest at 8% simple and £45.77 at 8% simple interest when card was paid in full. Does this look reasonable, should I accept? All help greatly appreciated. AsPraso
    Tags: None

Re: Credit Card PPI Redress Offer and Interest