• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Countrywide PPI claim time barred?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Countrywide PPI claim time barred?

Hi
    I recently made a claim for a mis sold PPI which we have been paying (its still current) since we took it out in March 1998 with Countrywide. The premium is £7.31 a month.

My claim pointed out that under the employment eligibility conditions laid out in the policy we were ineligible to benefit from it. I was a PhD research student and my wife was employed on a fixed term contract. Both of these employment situations are prohibited in the policy. I also pointed out that the policy was presented to us as 'normal procedure'.

I sent a highlighted copy of the policy to Countrywide with my claim.

Yesterday I received their reply, given below

' I refer to your letter and claim dated 8th June 2012, received by us on 11th June 2012, regarding the sale of Payment Protection Insurance (PPI) in 1997.

I note that your complaint relates to the sale of the PPI policy. As it has been more than six years since the event complained of and because the sale of your policy pre-dates Financial Services Authority regulation we believe your complaint is time-barred under the Limitation Act 1980. This allows us to reject your complaint without considering its merits.