• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

PRA Group 23k debt IS enforceable, what to do next?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PRA Group 23k debt IS enforceable, what to do next?

I recently checked the enforceability of a 23k unsecured loan I took back in 2013 from Lloyds and unfortunately PRA Group replied very quickly (within a week of them acknowledging receipt of my request) with the credit agreement.

I had been paying them for £1 a month for 4 years or so and recently decided to stop paying. I am tired of them and I don't want to be held captive to an unsecured loan forever.

This defaulted debt is off my credit file but I worry of a possible CCJ. Should I keep paying them £1 or just ignore them? From my experience what I have noticed is that CCJ's are usually more likely for smaller debts that are more likely affordable to eventually be paid back than big ones however my worry is another tarnished credit score.
    Tags: None

Do you own property, not least where you live?
    Lawyer (solicitor) - retired from practice, now supervising solicitor in a university law clinic. I do not advise by private message.

Litigants in Person should download and read this: https://www.judiciary.uk/wp-content/..._in_Person.pdf

Comment

Originally posted by atticus View Post
      Do you own property, not least where you live?
      No, I do not (currently).

Comment

Thanks.

You would be unwise to assume this will go away. I was thinking maybe this bank would seek a charging order over property to secure payment on an eventual sale or your death.