• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

McKenzie Hall - Retrieving Payments on a Statute Barred Debt

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• McKenzie Hall - Retrieving Payments on a Statute Barred Debt

Hi,

I was hoping someone might be able to help me out with some issues I'm having with McKenzie Hall, who by all accounts have a pretty low reputation, if these forums are anything to go by!

About 10 years ago, when I was a student, I was pretty bad with my finances, and ended up with quite a few debts, namely credit/store cards that were passed to debt collection agency once x amount of payments were missed. I thought these had all been paid off over the ensuing years, and my credit rating appeared to be back to 'excellent', as I have no problem getting approved for credit cards (and not the ones that are specifically for people with bad credit), phone contracts, etc.

However, a company called McKenzie Hall (who I had never heard of at the time) contacted me at the beginning of December, trying to collect on a debt that was accrued on a credit card taken out in 2001 (and defaulted on by 2003), and expecting repayment either immediately, or I could pay either the full amount or a settlement figure over 4 months. I was instructed to pay the full amount rather than the settlement, as apparently this would be less damaging to my credit rating. So I agreed to pay £130 per month for 4 months, as the amount outstanding was approximately £520. So far, I have paid £390, with one payment left to go.