• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Good Old Mackenzie Hall!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Good Old Mackenzie Hall!

Hi all

newbie here and hopefully in the right forum area.
    Hubby bought a lfat in 2004 and got into difficulties with a bad woman which ended up with him handing keys back. Northern Rock sold the flat for less than its value. He agreed to pay £30 a month until infinity to pay off the amount and has been paying this steadily for about 4 years and then yesterday received a letter from MH:

'Instructed by our clents to pursue you for the full payment of the above principle sum

The principle sum relates to the NR mortgage upon which you have an outstadning liability of xxxx. You are liable to repay this sum as your property was sold for less than the outstandng sum owed to our client.

Our clients have informed us that they are unaware of any legitimate reason for non-payment of their account' etc etc threat of court action, attachment of earnings blah blah blah

Being naive he rang them last night and they said he could pay a lump sum of less than 1/3 of the balance leading me to believe they have purchased the debt from NRAM for a pittance. He then said he may be able to increase the monthly payment by a little and they said they would send an I&E form for him to complete. it is my understanding he doesn't have to complete this and they have to accept his offer - am I correct?

He is rather worried about all this as he has not had any ocntact with MRAM asking for an increased payment and no notification that they were even thinking of passing onto a debt collection firm.