• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Mobile Debt!! Help TT

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mobile Debt!! Help TT

Hi guys,

Back to 2008, i had two contracts with o2. There was a time that my father was really ill, so i had to rush back to my country ( I was an international student) Unfortunately, my father passed away, so i didn't get a chance to come back and left all the debt behind.

I'm back to the UK last month and stay in the same flat i used to stay in 2008. Last week, i got two letters from Lowell requested me to pay 1,500 pounds debt.

I really dont know what is the best way to handle now. I cound not afford to pay the whole amount and the contracs should not be that much anyway. Should I call o2 or Lowell whether they can help or should i leave it for a while until i can afford to pay.

Thanks
    Tags: None

Re: Mobile Debt!! Help TT

I would send a Subject Access Request (SAR) to O2 - it costs £10 but will give you all information they hold on the debt. You'll see then any letters you've missed in your absence and get an idea of what is happening. O2 have 40 days to respond to this.

How much do you think the debt should be? This will give an idea of how much has been added in charges. Don't worry if you can't answer this as the SAR will give you this information.

As far as Lowells go, if you agree there is a debt to be repaid, I'd at this stage send them a Prove It letter which will buy you a bit of time while you wait for the SAR to come back. If they can't prove their entitlement to demand the money from you, obviously it would be silly to pay them. If they do prove it, then you pay only what you can afford each month to them.