• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Query regarding a Philips debt

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Query regarding a Philips debt

Hello there,

I work as a Support worker for vulnerable tenants. A tenant who I have recently started supporting again has told me about a fine for £85 which he received by the Magistrates court for a motoring offence.

He tells me that he agreed with the Magistrates Court to pay the debt in installments, but apparently he fell behind with these payments, and his right to pay in installments was withdrawn. The court then told him that the remaining £50 would have to be paid in full to the court.

It appears then that by the time he got the money together to pay the remaining balance, the court then told him that they had passed the remaining balance to Philips Debt collection agency, and he would need to telephone them. He subsequently tried, and even solicited help from his local CAB. Neither he nor they were ever able to get through to Philips on the phone. He showed me a letter which he received from Philips (which he claims was the first letter he received from them), which states that he owes them £125. No explanation was made as to why the debt had increased, and no breakdown was provided. As this letter was apparently the first from Philips, no prior warning had been given either.