• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Longish Story

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Longish Story

Hi all, I'm a newbie but would welcome advice on the following saga (apologies for length!)

Around the middle of 2009 I had a load of debt that had built up following my divorce a few years earlier. At the time I owned a house which was adjacent to some ex-allottment land. I did a deal with a property developer to buy my house and the land for a sum that would enable me to pay off my debts and leave with a few quid to start over. All this took time to go through planning etc, so I wrote to my creditors and arranged for them to freeze interest or suspend payments until the deal was done. Eventually it all worked out, my house was demolished and new properties built - I paid off my debts (some creditors settled for less) and moved into a one bedroom rented flat hoping to rebuild my life and my credit history. In November 2009 I had a letter from Phillips Debt Collection agency about a debt of £9400. I asked for proof that the debt was mine and heard nothing, therefore I ignored it and carried on with my life.

Fast forward to 2011 and I get a letter out of the blue from Mackenzie Hall asking me to pay a debt of £9300 odd to Lowell Sav. I had no knowledge of such a debt and so wrote and asked for them to substantiate the debt via a CCA - I heard nothing more from them.

During June/July 2012 I received three letters from Debt Managers Ltd about the same debt. This time I decided to check my credit file with Experian. It appears that Lowell Portfolio I have a default on my file with a default date of September 2008 for £9391.