• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Help Me - I'm New!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help Me - I'm New!

Hello everyone, I am new on here so thought I would introduce myself.

Looking for help with debt collectors/bailiffs (mainly JBW Group). I am a single parent and they are threatening me with committal to prison!

Any advice greatly appreciated - very scared
    Tags: None

Re: Help Me - I'm New!

More out of control bailiffs. Is it something in the water?

A big hello and welcome Purdy1980 and there are a wealth of people on here who know far more than I about bailiffs, I'm sure they will help. Meanwhile, please don't worry yourself too much, I'm no expert but even I can see another bullying thuggish meaningless threat when I see it.

Comment

Thank you Shadowcat.

I know they don't care about personal circumstances they just want their money, but I am afraid to answer the door and it keeps me awake at night.

Knowledge is power so I would like to be clued up before I speak to them as I know they will see a young single mum and resort to bullying me

Comment

Hello Purdy.

Why are these scumbags threatening you with committal to prison? The only reason I know of where you can be committed to prison in a civil court is for Contempt of Court. Have you failed to appear at an adjourned Oral Examination Hearing? If this is not the case, these cretins are committing criminal offences under Section 1, Malicious Communications Act 1988, if the threats are in written form, and Section 127, Communications Act 2003, if the threats are in electronic form, i.e. emails or over the telephone.

Could you post up the background to your case, please?