• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Lowell Debt Collection - advice please

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lowell Debt Collection - advice please

Good afternoon, I wonder if you could help with correspondence I have received from Lowell. In September I received a letter from Lowell, out of the blue, saying that I had a debt of £605.29 outstanding, and if I was to pay it off now it would be reduced to £423.70. There was no mention on the letter what tis debt related to, and I have no knowledge of any outstanding debt. I wrote back to them stating that I had no knowledge of the debt and asked them to furnish me with more details and supply any original documents they had relating to this matter. They replied with a short letter stating that it was in connection with a T mobile phone account, with details that I did not recognise, that ran from 2007 and ended in 2010. I did not recognise any of these details and have never had a T mobile phone account, nor have I received and communication about the debt. I sought advice and was told that due to the age of the debt it would be 'Statute Barred' and sent them a letter to this effect, and again requested any documentation they could provide.
    Today, I have received a reply saying that in July 2013 a County Court Judgement was issued in respect of this matter and that letters would have been sent to me prior the court proceedings and after when the CCJ was issued. Again this is all new to me, I have never been aware of a CCJ having been taken out against me, I have never bought anything on credit, or experienced any problem getting bank cards, etc. I have lived at the same address for nearly 40 years.