• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Baliffs

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Baliffs

Hi everyone! I am a recent law graduate working for a small local company. My boss has enquired with me his concerns about bailiffs and I was wondering if anyone could help.
    Bailiffs are attending my office trying to claim a debt for a different company which is no longer trading as it struggled during COVID and subsequently folded. A new company is now operating with the same director, however, bailiffs keep attending the office to collect the debt despite being a completely different company with a different office space. The Bailiffs attend frequently and I inform them this is not the same company and they do leave the premises, however they keep returning with the same instance occurring each time. I inform them this is not the same company, they leave and then return. Is there a way we can prevent the bailiffs from continuing to attend the premises as it is becoming more like harassment at this point. Any help would be much appreciated!
    Tags: None

What can you point to about the company that "folded"? Has it simply ceased trading, or is it in a formal liquidation? (What is shown on Companies House web site?)

What became of any assets that company may have had?
    Lawyer (solicitor) - retired from practice, now supervising solicitor in a university law clinic. I do not advise by private message.

Litigants in Person should download and read this: https://www.judiciary.uk/wp-content/..._in_Person.pdf

Comment

Thank you for your response.

The company has ceased trading and has £800.00 in the bank if not less but has not entered into formal liquidation as of yet.