• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Banksmart

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Banksmart

Hello, I am new to the forum. However, I write as somebody who has been assisting a family member for over 12 months with a claim by Banksmart (BS). I also write as somebody who ran a Claims Management Company (CMC) for several years s I have some knowledge of the rules and regulations.

In the case of my family member, BS claimed that they were entitled to a not insubstantial sum of money for commission and also for breach of contract (north of £2,000). These claims were heard before a County Court Judge last week and were all dismissed. The Judge also made an Order for loss of earnings in respect of my family member. When the Judge handed down his decision, BS (as did we) had an opportunity to appeal. BS did not ask the Judge for his leave to appeal so that is the end of the matter.

The outcome of the hearing last week was that all claims were dismissed. One of the defences that we ran (there were several) was that BS claims' for money were 'out of time'. The Judge agreed. It was astounding to me that a Company in the business of starting 'legal action' on behalf of consumers did not understand the most basic of concepts that claims are 'time barred' after 6 years.