• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Lease payment

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lease payment

I am a driving instructor and lease my vehicle. During lockdown, the leasing company took the car off me as if I didn't have it in my possession, I wouldn't have to pay. After lockdown eased and I returned to work, I signed a new contract and had the car back.

During my second week, on Wednesday morning, a mechanical failure occurred which resulted in the car being taken off me as all the local garages were backed up and unable to look at it. A replacement vehicle arrived in the afternoon on the following Monday. In total, there were six full 24 hour periods (days) I did not have access to a car and so could not work.

The lease company are now asking me to pay the lease for the period I did not have a car. I have gone through the contract and T&C's supplied to me and there is no clause covering breakdowns or payment for periods without the supply of a vehicle. All I have is an email stating they need to be told a garage can't look at the car or repairs will take more than 48 hours before they will supply me with a replacement vehicle (all very standard). The email says this information is "as per T&C's", but there is no such information included.

But all this boils down to do I have to pay for the period during which I had no car and therefore no income?
    Tags: None

View our Terms and Conditions

LegalBeagles Group uses cookies to enhance your browsing experience and to create a secure and effective website. By using this website, you are consenting to such use.To find out more and learn how to manage cookies please read our Cookie and Privacy Policy.