• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Protection from Harassment Act 1997 - Damages do I have a case?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Protection from Harassment Act 1997 - Damages do I have a case?

Hi All,

i'm a newbie on here but looking through some of the posts this seems a great resource.

I have a case with a water company who despite me spending 60+ (yes 60 +) phone calls trying to sort out never took payment despite them assuring me each time everything was correct and my direct debit was set up. Rest is a long story but they ended up taking me to court despite me paying them what I could afford. The water company inherited my account from another and thats when the problems started.

The point i'm trying to ascertain is part of the debt collection process I was continually harassed with phone calls despite me having a management level complaint open. I then received a call from the debt collections manager who basically threatened to open the first court case against me again despite me paying them towards the debt each month. He insisted they wanted more money each month and if I didn't pay this he would initiate county court proceedings. He also stated in an email that unless I also paid his legal costs so far (solicitors letters etc) regardless of if I agreed to the higher payment amount he would continue with the case to county court.