• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Motorloan Plus Voluntary Termination

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Motorloan Plus Voluntary Termination

Hi,

I was hoping to get a bit of advise as my trust in finance companies/car dealerships has definitely been tested!

I was made aware of ‘voluntary termination’ by a colleague of mine upon me complaining about how much I pay for a 7 year Audi A1 (£350 pm!!). I did a bit of digging to learn I had indeed paid over 50% of the total amount payable which was around £22,000. I’m in my last year of my agreement.

I have sent a VT letter (using a template I found on here - thank you!) and the response I got back was very disappointing to say the least. Apparently i’m not in a PCP agreement as I originally thought and I believe sold but instead a Motorloan Plus agreement. According to the finance company this means VT is not an option. My only option is to either settle the agreement for approx £8,000 or see it out until the end.

Basically; I’d just like to know if this is correct as being naive is what got me into this agreement in the first place!

Would appreciate any advice at all.

Thanks!

Meg
    Tags: None

Hello

Without seeing a copy of the agreement and its terms and conditions, it's difficult to tell you what type of agreement you actually have. If the finance co. is telling you that voluntary termination is not an option it might be that the contract is a some kind of fixed sum loan which is similar to a bank loan and the ownership of the car belongs to you.

If you can provide a copy of the contract by uploading it on here along with its terms I will check for you - make sure any personal info has been redacted.