• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

please help me, on the edge.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• please help me, on the edge.

This is almost unheard of and I can't find answers anywhere.

Basically I offered a friend legal advice which is fine. She asked me to go to court with her, a final family hearing and I did. She was under the impression that because I have a law degree that meant I am a solicitor. I did not know this, I assumed she knew I could only go as a mckenzie friend. Nobody asked me who I was at court, and I went in and represented her, including calling witnesses. The case ended.

A couple of months later, another friend asked me to do the same. I went to a family hearing and a prohibited steps order was made. It was a brief hearing as the ex-partner didn't turn up. I then went to another hearing a few days later, where I represented her and cross-examined him. At court before the third hearing, he had representation. His barrister asked me if I had an SRA number. I explained I was a mckenzie friend, and she said I had been impersonating a solicitor by doing what I had already done. She said she would report me to the SRA. I went home instead of going in to that hearing.

That case had another couple of hearings (which I didn't attend) and finished in July. The friend instructed the same solicitor I was "against" in the first hearing with my other friend. So this solicitor also knows what I have done.

I didn't sign any paperwork or anything (apart from a form giving my name and my friend's name). I didn't tell any judges that I was a solicitor. They must have just assumed I was as they acted like they were expecting me to talk etc.