• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

voluntary termination - car finance

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• voluntary termination - car finance

Hi, I am new to Legal Beagles!

I am looking to voluntarily terminate my finance agreement. I am 2.5 years into a 4 year agreement. I have paid just over 50% of the price I paid for the car which I understood to be the right point to make the VT. However the finace company say I am £2,700 short because it's 50% of the total sum of finance (so price paid + the full interest (over £6K!) that would have been paid at the end of the 4 years. I am wanting to know if this is right?? Also we paid £1000 deposit which apparantly isn't added to my 30 monthly payments made so far so doesn't count towards the 50%.....is this right?
    Final question is - I took out this finance agreement on this car when I changed a car (same make) where I now realise I was well over the 50% paid back but I paid the full outstanding amount on that car because they didn't advise me that a VT would be a better option - i.e hand back keys & start with new finance from scratch - does anyone know if there is any comeback on this - feels as though I was mis advised/mis sold?
    Any advice welcome - this is a minefield!!
    Tags: None

Sales people are not your legal advisors so there is no obligation for them to advise you that a VT would be a better option than paying in full. What makes you think that you can hold them liable for not telling you something you would have found out if you read the contract? I can tell you now that you have no basis of a claim at all on that so don't bother with that school of thought.