• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Defendant wants my claim that was served in England heard in Scotland

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Defendant wants my claim that was served in England heard in Scotland

Hi Everyone

This is my first time on here.

Please can you give some help and advice? I will try to be brief but it has become quite complicated:

We are a small building company and we are in the process of claiming for payment of an outstanding invoice from one of our past customers.

In March 2018 we filed a claim in the English Courts for a sum not exceeding £10K. In July 2018 as we had not received anything from the court or the defendant we filed for a default judgement. Around the same time we were made aware that the defendant's first name was incorrect, he always uses his second name and we believed we had his first name correct at the time. We applied to have the name corrected and this was finally done earlier this year.

As we had heard nothing from the court after the correction regarding the judgement request I emailed them to ask where we were with it as we had still received no defence. We heard nothing after four weeks so I wrote again asking if they had received a defence and heard nothing back.

Several weeks ago the court issued form N149a – Allocation to Small Claims track stating that this was now a defended claim and we should complete form N180 – Directions Questionnare. (DQ)