• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Shoplifting

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shoplifting

hello, I’m a 20 years EU student in the uk and 3 weeks ago Lidl found me stealing some food (8 pound value) and I’m scared about the consequences of my action.
    I know I’ve done something really stupid and I’m feeling so bad for that, but I’m in a stressfull financial situation so I think that’s why I’ve done it.

my question is: am I going to have problems in my immigration status in the Uk while I’m studying here? I’m going home soon (3rd of April) and I’m scared when I’m coming back (17 of April) they will deported me for some reasons. Should I be worried about?
    After 3 weeks I dint receive any letters... do you have any guesses when it will arrive?
    Note I’m a second year student and I’m going to stay in the Uk till the end of my studies that terminate in June 2020.
    During the fact they told me I’m going to receive a letter with the amount of money that I need to pay and if I’m not paying them the police will come to my accommodation and get stuff until they reach the value of the fine. They also take a video of me banning from every Lidl. I don’t know if the police where called... I mean one of them said “I’m gonna call the police right now” but I didn’t see any police officer. I signed a hand written paper but I didn’t read what it was about (I know stupid thing but I was panicking).

thank you for the responses and you time
    Tags: None

Forget it
    Noting will happen except you will get a stream of begging letters
    If you don't pay the police will not be calling on you.
    UK police do not act as debt collectors and Lidl staff were just trying to frighten you.