• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Particulars of Claim - How do I set it out?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Particulars of Claim - How do I set it out?

Hi there,

I am new to this so I do apolgise if this thread is posted in the incorrect forum or if this question may have already been answered.

I am intended on taking a small business to the small claims court. I purchased a car part from them. After two months, the part no longer worked. I attempted to liaise with company but was informed that I am outside of the 30 day warranty period. Under the Consumer Rights Act I advised them that after 30 days I am entitled to a replacement or a refund. I was offered a partial refund to which I rejected but the business were adamant that they part was not faulty. I had two independent mechanics to inspect the part and they confirmed it was faulty. I was also advised that they cannot replace the part as they do not have it in stock even though I have proof of them advertising the same part.

I sent a letter before court action to which they refused to accept. I then sent an email confirming the same.

Does anyone have a template for the POC? Do I include photographs, statements of the mechanics, evidence of the part being sold? Or is it just a brief summary of the issue, law relied on and the damages? I don't want my claim to be dismissed if the POC is not sufficient.

Thank you
    Ms Anonymous
    Last edited by Ms Anonymous; 4th November 2018, 16:09:PM.

Also, I have not been able to use my car for about four months now due to the faulty part. I have cancelled insurance and it is declared SORN. Am I able to seek to recover any damages due to the loss of use of vehicle at all?