• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Help with drafting description for 'breach of contract': 'Letter Before Action'

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with drafting description for 'breach of contract': 'Letter Before Action'

Hello All

I am new to the Legal Beagles!

I recently had two complaints upheld by the Financial Ombudsman Service (FOS), a process which went on for over a year.

I am seeking help with drafting clear description of a 'breach of contract' stemming from claims I made against two insurance policies held with different providers. Both claims were declined. I filed complaints against both insurance providers, based on that the rationale for declining my claim was contrary to the policy wording. I took my complaints to the FOS who upheld my complaints citing that the respective insurance providers were wrong in applying an exclusion clause when they shouldn't have - this had been the cornerstone of my complaint all along but the insurance providers were taking no notice. I now intend to serve a 'Letter Before Action' citing (i) breach of contract and (ii) negligence. I have done a fair amount of homework, but I still cannot get my head around clearly structuring a description of the 'breach of contract' so that it makes legal sense. I have learnt that I need to link such a 'breach' to the specific clause in the contract document which I appreciate, but I could do with viewing an example.

The second query I have is around 'negligence' - am I correct to assume that a 'breach of contract' can give grounds for claiming 'negligence'. If so, how so, please?

I would welcome as well as appreciate your feedback please.

With many thanks.

Mack65

Tags: None

Hello