• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Pushed into buying a business advert

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pushed into buying a business advert

UGENT CAN ANYONE ADVISE PLEASE, I was recently contacted by Yell regarding advertising I'm self-employed it was arranged a salesman to come to my house on the 24th of April, the salesman showed me on his laptop how many people look for mediums in my area around 1,500 apparently! I told him that I'm not technical at all and was concerned about adding information and links onto the ad he said not to worry he would do it or another member of his team. I was not told about or offered a smaller ad , to say the salesman was pushy is an understatement even to the point he had my bank card in his hand and was giving my bank details over the phone to his colleague it was then that I discovered he hadn't told me about the added tax total is £162 a month for a year this is a huge sum of money for me to pay, he reassured me that I would get lot's of work from the ad and told me I was at the top of the list for the North East and that he has given me Durham completely free his colleague was supposed to be calling me the next day to add the information over the phone to my ad he didn't call but sent an email asking could he contact me the following day this wasn't convenient as I do lot of charity work. concerned that I hadn't received one single phone call about work from the ad, I googled my name it was then I discovered that I was not top of the list there are 12 people in front of me. I then rang my bank on the 10th of May to discover that Yell had set up 2 direct debits both had been set up on the 24th of April I canceled both I have the proof. on the 15th of May I