• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

How much trouble am I in?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How much trouble am I in?

I have been incredibly stupid. I was suspended from my job yesterday afternoon. I work for a major chain store on the shop floor, I am a shift manager.

The suspension is in relation to fraudulent refunds (I am guilty, no arguments there). The amounts total just over £2000 and cover a period of around 18 months. The individual amounts vary from £250 to £800. I processed refunds using genuine customer details but then took the cash myself.

I have worked for the company for 7 years and have no previous convictions, not even a parking ticket. I have been asked to attend a meeting next Friday, I am guessing I will be dismissed but don't know if the police are involved.

Can I resign and avoid the disciplinary? If the police get involved will I be arrested? What will happen in court?

How difficult will it be to get another job? I am 29, my wife thinks I am on annual leave and I am barely keeping things together. I can't talk any friends or family, they would be appalled at what I have done. The money was spent on weekends away and car repairs, nothing extravagant.
    Tags: None

Re: How much trouble am I in?

Originally posted by Icarus2016 View Post
    I have been incredibly stupid. I was suspended from my job yesterday afternoon. I work for a major chain store on the shop floor, I am a shift manager.