• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

All work and no play? It's a myth

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• All work and no play? It's a myth

Stand-up comic Dave Cohen checks his facts in search of the typical overworked Brit and discovers some uncomfortable truths
    Everybody knows we Brits work the longest hours in Europe. We've read it so many times it must be true, mustn't it?
    I am a comedy writer and performer, not an investigative journalist. I once read an article by John Pilger and I used to cover meetings of Llantrisant village council for the Pontypridd Observer, although announcing the construction of a roundabout on Coedcae Lane was as close as I ever got to a scoop.
    But in the course of making a documentary for the BBC about my shambolic efforts to try and bring some order into the everyday chaos of my life, I stumbled upon the truth: Brits do not work the longest hours in Europe. We don't even come second. Or third. In fact, by almost every statistical definition, we're barely average.
    The UK was the first member to successfully opt out of the 1993 European Union Working Time Directive, which states no employee should work more than 48 hours a week. Another 13 EU countries have since followed our example.
    Tomorrow, European Union ministers gather in Brussels to discuss whether or not we can keep the opt-out. Labour MEPs, who believe this long-hours culture encouraged by the opt-out is detrimental to workers' well-being, voted recently to opt back in. In Westminster, however, Labour ministers have picked a fight with their colleagues and are insisting we should keep the opt-out.