• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Help on estate income tax/IHT

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help on estate income tax/IHT

I've been administering an estate for nearly 3 years (since Dec 2019) as it got complicated, but am now at the stage where I've gathered all the money (everything was sold so the estate can be financially divided on a simple % distribution between 10 people).
    I originally had a solicitor but he made so many mistakes I was forced to sever the relationship.
    I'm now at the point where I want to distribute money, but I think there may be more tax to pay, here is a very brief summary of the situation and approx values:
    • Original estate valued for probate at £800k, around £200k inheritance tax paid
    • House valued at £190k, sold for £250k - I paid capital gains tax on the difference as advised by HMRC within a few days of the sale
    • Shares/Investments valued at £500k at time of death. Once redeemed, they totalled around £540k as it was 12 months after death before it was all completed.
    • Everything else in the estate balances to within £1k of the values given for probate when totalled together, so I'm not too worried about those.
    • I sorted income tax/self assessment to the date of death shortly after the death.