• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Car Insurance issue

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Car Insurance issue

Had an existing policy with Admiral for my 2001 VW Golf.

Sold it and purchased a 2007 VW Golf newer model but same engine size.

Still have 2 months of existing policy to run so contacted them to give new details and was told that there would be an additional premium to pay of £83 plus an admin charge of £19.50 ?

When I asked why the increase, I was told that it was due to the fact that it was a new car and that I was not use to driving it ?

Now I have been driving for more than 30+ years, have a clean license and 21+ years no claims. I decided to pay the extra premium as I didn't want to incur anymore costs due to cancelling the policy but advised that I will be reconsidering at renewal.

I requested a fuller explanation in writing in which was received today.

They further explain that they rate premiums on car grouping, value, year of purchase and year of make / model.

Then they quote :-

"The main cause of is the year the car was purchased. Our claims statistics have shown this is an important factor. The claims statistics show the longer a person has owned and driven a particular car, the better risk they are ? The trends show the first year in a new car is the most risky. This could be because you may still be getting used to the car.

Even though your new car is the same make / model and grouping as your previous car, the type and market value of the car is different."

Ok I do accept that the value has increased by about £1,500 but how can they justify such a large increase and also charge an admin fee ?