• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Marstons - Overcharging Me -HELP PLEASE!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Marstons - Overcharging Me -HELP PLEASE!

Hi there.

This is my first time on this forum and post so forgive me if this information is elsewhere on the forum. Anyway, here's my story:

Last year my partner picked up a Derbyshire County Council driving ticket in my car that we contested and had rejected. We stupidly ignored it after that (and were abroad working for a month!) until a bailiff company, Equita, picked up the case late last year and sent one threatening letter. They were very difficult to deal with and the aggressive bailiff tried to charge me £420 over the phone for an £82 fine. When I asked for a breakdown of the charges I didn't hear anything back, apart from a letter in December informing me that due to season of goodwill no bailiffs would call around my house.

Anyway, on the 30th of January I received a letter from Marstons telling me that I now owe them £282. I spoke with the bailiff, who was actually not too bad, and asked him for a written breakdown of these fees and the dates they were incurred. He informed me that it was against company policy to do so.

I then emailed
    Marstons a formal request for a written breakdown of the fees, dates and times incurred and, indeed, authorisation that they (and the bailiff) are acting on behalf of Derbyshire CC - information I think I'm right in understanding I'm statutorily entitled to under The Enforcement of Road Traffic Debts (Certificated Bailiffs) Regulations. They're yet to respond.

Meanwhile the bailiff has phoned me to tell me the fees, which are as follows (the amounts are his words):