• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

single justice procedure notice with two offences

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• single justice procedure notice with two offences

Hi all

I’m an International student, and my kids and I were stopped by the police last August who claimed that I was using my mobile phone while driving and then they asked me to show them my licence and showed them my international license and provisional license. I recently received a single justice procedure notice with two offences (using a handheld mobile phone while driving and Driving Otherwise In Accordance with a Driving Licence )

As my English language is not good, I was very nervous when they asked me if I was using my mobile phone, but I tried to be relaxed and I replied that I was using it for google map while it was on the holder but while I’m driving it drops down and hold it to get it back but I was never holding it in my hand and use it while driving. In the witness statement, the officer said I admitted to using google Maps!! but he did not mention that I used it while in the holder or any of my circumstances I explained to them.

I will plead guilty to “Driving Otherwise In Accordance with a Driving Licence.”

But I would like to hear your advice about using a handheld mobile phone while driving as I’m not familiar with the law here and cannot afford legal advice from motoring lawyers. As I hold it but I don’t use it, I can plead not guilty!!