• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Received single Justice Procedure Notice.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Received single Justice Procedure Notice.

Hi all.
    I am being charged with 2 offences. Speeding (47 in a 40 during average speed camera) However this was my partner who was speeding and not me. I am also charged with failure to give information of the drivers identity, which I am guilty for. Why I did not send it back, I will never know. Anyway, I am a new driver who if i get 6 points, which is the penalty the second charge will bring, will lose my license. I am soon to be a dad to my first, and I need to be able to drive. My partner will be off on maternity and I will need to drive to the school where I work as a teacher. The issue is I don't know how to plead. I am not guilty of the first charge and guilty of the second so I assume I have to plea that way? Has anyone been in magistrates for a similar reason? Am I able to try and get the second penalty reduced through circumstances such as job and partner being pregnant?*
    All advice is welcome.
    Thanks in advance for all your help
    Tags: None

Well looks like you accept you're guilty of the failure to identify the driver charge and have no defence.* Others will know better than me but I don't think there's anything you can do in your situation.* Automatic revocation of a new driver's licence after they hit 6 points is an administrative action by the DVLA and has nothing to do with the courts.* (ie I don't think you can plead exceptional hardship or mitigation etc).

If you get 6 points my understanding is that DVLA will automatically revoke your licence.* You will need to book a theory test and pass your practical again.