• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Obtaining name of a Driver in accident who fails to stop

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Obtaining name of a Driver in accident who fails to stop

Newbie here, so please be gentle or point me to other forum/posts that might help!

While I had parked on Private Land (a public car park for a block of flats) a driver reversed into my parked car. (causing several £'000 of damage). Yes my car was within the parking space! No my own insurance does not cover this incident.

The driver got out examined the damage (so clearly identifiable on the CCTV - as a Female).
    They failed to report the damage/accident or to leave any note, it was only luck that CCTV captured the events.

askMID provided the insurance details, and the insurer have now replied saying that without the "name" of the driver, as per a recent case “Cameron V Liverpool Victoria”, they will not accept any claim.

They claim their policy holder denies being involved, but it might be a named driver. They have been sent the CCTV and there is no doubt about the liability. They have not indicated the car was stolen.

I have now reported the incident to the police (but they appear to treat this with low priority due to time passed and no personal injury), so still waiting for any personal contact and update on the matter. The Police have powers under the RTA (Section 172) to request the drivers details, or indeed match the CCTV picture to a face … if they attend the Registered keepers address. Lots of less than certain if's and time delays.

I have sent a V888 to DVLA, which I hope to hear back in the next 14days ...