• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Court Summons for Speeding Plea of Mitigation Advice

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Court Summons for Speeding Plea of Mitigation Advice

Hi Everyone, I'm a newbie and I've been caught doing 51 on a 30 road in Scotland, and i received court summons for this after sending a NIP as i'm the named driver. I'm going to plead guilty and thinking about writing a mitigation statement, however i have some issues that i need to address. I'm a immigrant and i'm at the stage where i can apply for an indefinite leave to remain, but having a criminal conviction would mean automatic refusal, is there any way i could get fine and points but not a conviction? Also the court date is 28th December and i'm leaving country on 12th December and returning on 18th January, so if i get the fine and points, there is a chance i might miss the deadline to pay it because i wont have access to post, so i'm requesting extension of 30 days to pay the fine. Please let me know if i can draft the letter any better, or suggestions on how to draft it professionally

Thanks in Advance

Dear Sirs

In order to reduce the courts time I plead guilty to my speeding offence and accept full responsibility for my actions on that day.
    Travelling over speed-limit is inexcusable, and I will accept any punishment that the court wishes to impose on me. However, I would like you to consider the following circumstances before passing the judgement.