• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Council tax bill from when I was a student. Help please.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Council tax bill from when I was a student. Help please.

Hi, found this forum online and was hoping someone would be able to offer some advice / guidance.

The titles slightly misleading as it's actually my partner who has received a council tax bill from Birmingham City Council for over £3000.

The bill was for a property she was staying at in 2010 when she was a full time student and exempt from council tax, she had only stayed at the property for one year and then lived in a number of other properties up to her graduation, after which she moved away from Birmingham and paid council tax to another council.

At each of the properties she lived at as a student she lived with other full-time students.

The first time she had actually seen anything related to this bill was around two weeks ago - she called the council up to try rectify this but they've requested proof that she didn't live in this property after the first year, this is quite difficult has she hasn't got her copies of the other tenancy agreements. The council also requested the information of the two other students who were in the property, again this will be difficult as she hasn't been in contact with one of them since leaving that property.

The person she spoke to on the phone said that they would provide her with more information in the post, but instead a week later sent a pre-court notification letter threatening committal to prison, Bankruptcy, or a charging order.