• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Acting as guarantor

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Acting as guarantor

hello - I hope you can give me some advice.

I have been acting as guarantor for my ex partner now for 3 years (yes crazy I know) but things have worked well, he pays the housing benfit directly to me and we have had no problems.

He has now served notice and is moving in a months time, I have agreed to act as guarantor for him again.

My question is this - I only want to act as guarantor for the term of the fixed tennacy period. At the end of the 12 month period I would like to either serve notice as guarantor or renew for another fixed period depending on how things have gone.

This particular estate agent have said that I would be liable as guarantor for as long as the tennant is in the residence even once it has changed to a periodic tennacy and that I would be unable to give notice as guarantor at any point.

I thought that an open ended agreement was illegal? I only want to linit my liabilty and protect my interests, the likelihood of me not renewing as quarantor is very small as things have worked so well in the past. I am concerned that the landlord could increase the rent making it too expensive for the tennant to pay his rent and that would fall to me.

I also thought that if the landlord increased the rent this would make the original agreement null and void?

I have attached the guarantor docment they have forwarded.

Any help would be great
    Attached Files
    Tags: None

Re: Acting as guarantor

hello,
    1 :you need to write on the bottom of the guarantor document that you are only acting as a guarantor for the 1st 12 months of the contract and sign..