• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Alleged lorry accident

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Alleged lorry accident

Hi All, I hope everyone is keeping safe and well?

I wonder if anyone might have some advice on situation, that I am stumped on! I am an accountant, so this sort of law, is not my realm.

A friend drives Class 1 for a national firm. A few months ago, he walked into work and was told someone had called in and said he damaged their wall. He knew nothing of this, and that was the last he heard of it.

Last night, a police officer calls him to ask a few questions - which he had expected to happen months ago. After telling the officer he had no knowledge of hitting anything, the officer told him that his firm wouldn't pay for the damage, and so he had to - about £1000. The officer suggested this be through his own car insurance, or out of his own pocket. He wanted my friend to go to all the way over to the Yorkshire police station, to discuss it further. (a good hour drive).

I find this highly irregular... am I behind the times? I would have expected that, if anything, his firm would pay out and they would be the ones to take back any money, should that be appropriate. Or, perhaps a solicitor letter for a civil claim would land on his doorstep (assuming there is scope for that?). Certainly not the police telling him to pay.