• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Help with dishonest solicitors following divorce

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with dishonest solicitors following divorce

Hi all. Newbie here, looking for a second opinion on this one.

My now ex-wife and I divorced last year, after our relationship broke down due to irreconcilable differences. She initiated the divorce proceedings so was the petitioner, I was the respondent. We informally agreed early on that she would stay at the family home (I moved out), and buy me out of my share of the house and contents.

We went to family mediation and hashed out an agreed settlement figure that we were mostly happy with. A lump sum for the house and contents, plus she would give me the money to pay off several loans for goods on hire purchase that remained in the house, as the debts were solely in my name at the time, and I had been paying them off since the divorce.

I did not contest the divorce on any point, except she wanted me to pay the court costs of the divorce (£850) since she blamed me for the breakdown of the marriage. I objected to this on the financial paperwork, stating that I was not the petitioner, plus the cause of the breakdown of the marriage were not due to adultery or domestic abuse.