• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Matrimonial debts in settlement

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Matrimonial debts in settlement

My ex's lawyer is pushing along for a settlement from the matrimonial home and I am trying to work out what is considered fair when coming to a settlement figure and would appreciate advice as I have had to dispense with my lawyer due to spiraling costs.
    When considering what needs taking consideration of, I realise we work from a point of 50/50 split. There are no children involved here just the matrimonial home which she choose to leave and seek a divorce.
    How is the fact I have been paying the mortgage and other bills alone for the 3 years since she left taken account of?
    We bought a static holiday home just a couple of months before she left, the debt was taken solely in my name due her bad credit rating and at the time I took the debt on I believed our marriage was good. I can't afford to sell as it wouldn't raise enough to pay off the debt, how would this sort of matter be taken account of in the calculation phase?
    TIA
    Tags: None

Hi Deltic Bouy,

Apologies if you already have this information but if not the factors that are considered by the Court are contained in s25 of the Matrimonial Causes Act here:- http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/1973/18/section/25