• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.
  • If you need direct help with your employment issue you can contact us at admin@legalbeaglesgroup.com for further assistance. This will give you access to “off-forum” support on a one-to- one basis from an experienced employment law expert for which we would welcome that you make a donation to help towards their time spent assisting on your matter. You can do this by clicking on the donate button in the box below.

Advice needed on excessive hours and inadequate rest periods

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice needed on excessive hours and inadequate rest periods

I work as a residential school matron in an independent school. My contract of employment is for 45 hours per week but I consistently work far in excess of this. An average working day is 7.30 start until at least 9.30pm, often far longer, with disturbed nights etc I get one period of 24 hours off per week. The rest of the time I am on duty, even at meal times which have to be taken with the children. I have to be available to respond to an incident ideally within 5 mins which really means having to stay onsite, I did opt out of the 48 hour week - but the form comes with the contract and offer of employment etc, and I assumed if not signed the offer would be rescinded. I do get all school holidays off but this is unpaid ( except for the statutory amount of paid annual leave) There other colleagues in the same situation. We have tried to reason and negotiate with our managers to no avail- we are constantly told we have chosen a 'vocation' and point out the long holidays.