• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.
  • If you need direct help with your employment issue you can contact us at admin@legalbeaglesgroup.com for further assistance. This will give you access to “off-forum” support on a one-to- one basis from an experienced employment law expert for which we would welcome that you make a donation to help towards their time spent assisting on your matter. You can do this by clicking on the donate button in the box below.

Dismissal for Gross Misconduct and Appealling

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dismissal for Gross Misconduct and Appealling

Hi All,

Bit of a newbie and after some advice. I had been working for a well-known bookmakers for nearly 6 years with no issues, was Deputy Manager and even had the Area Manager (AM) helping me to train to become Shop Manager. Suddenly out of the blue I get suspended and investigated for staking errors on bets.

At the investigation I get given a schedule of 13 bets over a 4 week period that look like the stake has gone through at lower than how the bet is written out. Basically they have decided I've been defrauding the company for personal gain and the whole investigation and disciplinary were conducted in a way that they had clearly made their mind up from the moment they suspended me.

I have categorically denied theses charges and provided a 3 page statement at the disciplinary meeting, which caused the meeting to be adjourned for 10 days. When it was re-adjourned the (AM) had no interest in my statement just asking why this had happened.