• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.
  • If you need direct help with your employment issue you can contact us at admin@legalbeaglesgroup.com for further assistance. This will give you access to “off-forum” support on a one-to- one basis from an experienced employment law expert for which we would welcome that you make a donation to help towards their time spent assisting on your matter. You can do this by clicking on the donate button in the box below.

Moved onto a zero hour contract

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Moved onto a zero hour contract

Hi, first time posting and wish I got advice a lot sooner.

So I’ve been working for a offshore company for 10 years. Once Covid hit I was classed as Clinically Extremely Vulnerable and was placed on Furlough. I did come off it at one point but was placed on it again just before Christmas 2020.

I had a meeting with work to come back in April and start off in the workshop, however I failed a medical so was unable to return to offshore duties.

Now like most people the pandemic hit me and my family hard, not only financially, but my families mental health as well. We have 2 autistic children and a new baby born during lockdown. We receive zero help with the children with regards to helping there behaviour and helping us to understand and cope more with them, this has put a real strain on my partners mental health and caused her depression.

With that in mind I told my company that I no longer want to work offshore with my current home situation and asked if there was a full time role in the workshop (I was going in full time at this point).