• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.
  • If you need direct help with your employment issue you can contact us at admin@legalbeaglesgroup.com for further assistance. This will give you access to “off-forum” support on a one-to- one basis from an experienced employment law expert for which we would welcome that you make a donation to help towards their time spent assisting on your matter. You can do this by clicking on the donate button in the box below.

Redundancy or Reduced Hours

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Redundancy or Reduced Hours

I have been working full time for my company for over five years and have been on furlough since 1st April.

This coming Friday I have a meeting at work with my two directors. Originally casually over the phone termed as "a meeting to discuss your options" but I have subsequently received an official letter stating that this meeting is a "consultation meeting" and that I am "at risk of redundancy or reduced hours".

They have previously told me that come the end of the furlough scheme at the end of October staff including myself will be brought back in on drastically reduced hours (2 days instead of 5) or, if they do not agree to a new contract with the reduced hours, they will be made redundant. I'm not sure they should have told us this prior to consultation but still. As the company hopefully recovers, hours would be gradually increased back to full time.

My questions are:

1) If I choose the reduced hours option, can they force me to sign the new contract now? My concern with this is that I sign a contract for 60% fewer hours, they could five minutes later issue me with redundancy, now worth 60% less, before the ink is even dry on my new contract.