• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.
  • If you need direct help with your employment issue you can contact us at admin@legalbeaglesgroup.com for further assistance. This will give you access to “off-forum” support on a one-to- one basis from an experienced employment law expert for which we would welcome that you make a donation to help towards their time spent assisting on your matter. You can do this by clicking on the donate button in the box below.

Collective agreements

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Collective agreements

Hi, it's my first time on the board, I see there's been very helpful replies so thought I'd test my luck. I'm approaching my cut-off date to send my tribunal application and am quite stressed as I can't find the information I need online and can't afford legal advice, so any insight would be greatly appreciated

My grievance is for breach of contract relating to my holiday entitlement terms, there are 3 sets of terms which are in play and I am not sure which is contractually enforceable.

*- 2007 collective agreement - written in the company handbook
    *- 2016 collective agreement - verbal agreement, not written anywhere, no documentation to support it
    *- 2017 individual contract (start of employment) - expressly states holiday entitlement that does not match any of the above

The issue is that the company has reduced my holiday entitlement, claiming that the 2016 collective agreement supersedes my 2017 contract. A union rep has confirmed that the collective agreement was verbal in nature and predates my contract, thus has no effect upon it as the individual terms are prevalent. Is this true?