• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.
  • If you need direct help with your employment issue you can contact us at admin@legalbeaglesgroup.com for further assistance. This will give you access to “off-forum” support on a one-to- one basis from an experienced employment law expert for which we would welcome that you make a donation to help towards their time spent assisting on your matter. You can do this by clicking on the donate button in the box below.

Excluded from Company Bonus at Termination

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Excluded from Company Bonus at Termination

Hi all,

It's my first time writing here but I hope I get it right.

I resigned my position in February, with my last working day was meant to be the 5th of March. HR assured me that I would receive the annual bonus (which was paid out in March).

As I started my notice period, my line manager told me that I had a lot of accrued leave from the earlier year, and that I should take it. So I did, and I left the company in the last week of February.

Much to my disappointment, my bonus was never paid. After a few months of chasing up with HR, I finally got a fraction of the money (which pertained to an apparently missed payment prior). When I inquired with HR why I wasn't paid my actual bonus, they told me that my employment with the company was terminated in February, on my last working day, and that meant that I would forfeit my annual bonus as my leave was paid out on the day of my termination.

Am I right in thinking that I was technically still employed, seeing as I only shortened my notice by virtue of taking the leave I was owed? Or did I mistake, and subscribe to the most expensive week of my life?