• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Delay in issuing a claim after a Letter Before Action

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Delay in issuing a claim after a Letter Before Action

Hi all,

I'm a new member seeking assistance with a payment dispute issue. Thank you in advance for your time and support.

As a freelancer, I'm dealing with a payment dispute involving a client, a limited company, who refused the full payment for my supplied services. The client attempted to evade payment by fabricating new implied terms in the contract (skipping all details to keep it short). Despite email discussions to resolve the matter, no resolution was reached. I issued a letter before action to the client, which went unanswered (more than 30 days now).

Due to personal circumstances, it's currently challenging for me to initiate the legal claim and handle proceedings immediately. I am considering a 12-month delay, still well within statutory limits.

Problem: I reviewed the practice direction for pre-action conduct rules and found no specific guidelines on maintaining compliance in such cases, except to act "within a time limit set out in a relevant protocol or within a reasonable period."

Questions:
    1. Is there a risk that significantly delaying the claim may be perceived as an abuse of the legal process by a judge?
    2. Before submitting the claim after 12 months, is it necessary to send another letter before action to the client?

Thank you for your guidance!
    Tags: None