• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Help with form N244 please

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with form N244 please

Hello.
    I am a sole trader and am in the process of taking a second hand car dealer to court over a problem with a van he sold me. The claim is now at the Notice of Allocation to the Small Claims Track (Hearing) stage, date of hearing to be advised.
    I have already obtained a written report, on this particular problem, from a firm of automotive consulting engineers and am informed that I need the courts permission to use this expert witness evidence in my claim.
    From what I can gather I need to make this application on form N244. Page 1 is causing me some confusion.
    I have answered question 3 "permission to use a written report, prepared by an expert witness, on the gearbox in the van sold to me by the defendant. The report states that the fault would have been present at the time of purchase."
    Could anyone advise on what I should answer to questions 4,5,6,7 & 8 please or should I just leave them blank.
    Many thanks
    Tags: None

I believe you also need to send a copy of the form to the other party -

The form can be used for many different orders, so all the questions aren't applicable to you -

https://assets.publishing.service.go...-notes-eng.pdf

Comment

Who said to you that you need to apply for permission to adduce expert evidence? The fact that you've obtained a report from an independent third party who might have expertise in a particular subject does not automatically mean that it is to be treated a expert evidence. It can simply be evidence used as part of your claim but the judge will instead attach the appropriate weight to that report.