• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

CCJ obtained defendant issued and additional claim

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• CCJ obtained defendant issued and additional claim

Long story short I'm a self employed recovery driver who previously did some vehicle recovery for the defendant.

I ended up obtaining a default CCJ against the vehicle repair garage for damage to a vehicle I owned and had asked them to do some repairs to back in 2017 which to this day still haven't been completed the car has been stored outside and been damaged beyond economical repair as they left it outside with the bonnet up so the engine as become water damaged. The body work has overspray on.

So I recently took them to court they failed to respond to the N1 form and have ended up with a CCJ. I today have received a letter from Northampton for a new claim not a counter claim..its issued as a civil money claim so not through money claim but from what I can gather its the new pilot scheme they are trialing.

They are trying to claim in excess of £2000 for supposed damage to vehicles caused when I was recovering them for them.

They are claiming for 3 vehicles all of which where salvage vehicles. I know I didn't cause any damage to them and even if I had then I have advised the garage this would be a claim on my goods in transit insurance not a court claim. They are also trying to claim £255 the cost of applying to set the original CCJ aside, which they haven't done as of yet, and also storage charges for having stored my vehicle (which they still have and have completely destroyed. I have no intention of claiming the vehicle back as I took them to court to obtain the market value of the car.)