• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Notice of discontinuance but still CCJ

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Notice of discontinuance but still CCJ

Hi, this is my first time on the forums. I've had a look around and not yet found anything or anyone in the same situation as me.

In Feb 2011 I had a small car accident in works car park. Everything was being sorted with the insurance companies. Then a few months later without any warning I got a CCJ notice. I contacted the insurance company and they said yeah its procedure.

The guy had had a rental car while his was in for repair and was claiming the cost from me.

The insurance told me not to do anything with the forms just send the whole County court Judgment pack to them, nothing filled in and they will sort everything.

Then a few weeks later I started receiving mail from companies trying to help me due to my recent CCJ. I again rang the insurance company and they told me, there wasn't a CCJ and if there was it would get removed once the case is sorted, the insurance company didn't agree with the costs and they were fighting it.

Ok so I left it as that. The next letter I got was from the claimants solicitor with a copy of Notice of discontinuance dated 15/02/2012.
    I was surprised but thought brill, after a year it's sorted.

Not long after, I got a letter from the insurance saying the case had been closed.

I was re leaved and happy that after a year it was over.

It wasn't till I tried to get a credit card and got refused that i started to query it. After looking on a credit reference site i DO have this CCJ against my name.

So what I'm asking is, If a case gets discontinued surely that means the CCJ is cleared?
    Tags: None