• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

CCC from Civil Enforcement Ltd - Draft Defence

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• CCC from Civil Enforcement Ltd - Draft Defence

Hi there, I am a relative newbie so please bear with me!

To give a bit of background:Vehicle keeper received a parking charge notice in September last year after parking at a 'Sainsburies local' to assist an elderly gentleman who suffers from Alzheimers with shopping. Car park is not owned by Sainsburies or Civil Enforcement Ltd (The Claimant.) Car park signs state 'free parking 45 minutes.' It is alleged that the vehicle outstayed the 45 minute period by 18 minutes.

Up until now January 2018 all correspondence was ignored, an appeal was then submitted directly to CEL which was rejected. Since then all subsequent correspondence has been ignored until this week when a County Court Claim form was received from Northampton Business Centre

Defendant has submitted an AoS stating intent to defend the claim. Below is an initial draft of the defence. Any comments/critique would be very much appreciated! Points to note re the Claim:
    1. CEL is not the land owner nor have they evidenced permission to bring charges on behalf of the landowner
    2. BPA CoP states that BPA Code of Practice Section 20 (20.5a) states: ‘when issuing a parking charge notice you may use photographs as evidence that a vehicle was parked in an unauthorised way. The photographs must refer to and confirm the incident which you claim was unauthorised. CEL has failed to provide any evidence that the car was even in the car park. The photgraphs sent simply show the vehicle on a stretch of road which could be anywhere