• Welcome to the LegalBeagles Consumer and Legal Forum.
    Please Register to get the most out of the forum. Registration is free and only needs a username and email address.
    REGISTER
    Please do not post your full name, reference numbers or any identifiable details on the forum.

Trying to get my money back

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trying to get my money back

Hi everyone. I’m a sole trader and in September I paid £2000 to a limited company for a new website and a year of SEO. I then paid a further £250 for this company to run a facebook advert. The £250 was for 1 weeks worth of advertising. I set a deadline of last week in October for the advertising and website to launch.

i had lots of small issues with the company which was really 1 guy, not responding to emails, phone calls or messages. He kept dragging out the timeline with no explanation other than he was busy.

1st November I finally saw the first draft of my new website and it was a poor copy of what I already had built myself. I listed multiple things that were wrong with this draft website but again he was dragging out fixing these things.

3rd November he ran a facebook advert, he didn’t show me the advert or obtain my approval before running this advert. When I saw it I was appalled. He made 6 mistakes in 3 sentences. There were 3 grammatical mistakes, he had typed TikTok with only 1 capital T, he said I had 20 products when I had 14.

I reached my limit and emailed him terminating our relationship and asking for my money back. After claiming he’s spoken with his solicitor he’s not responded to any of the 2 pages of reasons that I feel he’s not fulfilled the contract and he’s stated he thinks I want a refund because if got cash flow issues. He has offered me a 5% refund of the £2000 he claims he has done between 40 to 50 hours work. he claims to have spent £162 on the Facebook advert but I have proof from Facebook he only spent £32.10.